The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
 
 
Oakland University Logo
MenuMenu
    Oakland University
   
 
  Dec 15, 2017
 
 
    
2014-2015 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Calendars and Deadlines


  

 

 

Academic Calendar 2014-2015

 

Fall 2014


New Student Convocation

Tuesday September 2

Classes begin

7:30 p.m., Wednesday September 3

Thanksgiving Recess begins

10:00 p.m., Wednesday November 26

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday December 1

Classes end

10:00 p.m., Saturday December 6

Study Day

Sunday December 7

Final Exams begin

7:30 a.m., Monday December 8

Final Exams end

10:00 p.m., Saturday December 13

Fall Commencement

Saturday December 13
 
 
   

Winter 2015


Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Tuesday January 6

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday (Classes suspended) January 19

Winter Recess begins

10:00 p.m., Saturday February 21

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday March 2

Classes end

10:00 p.m., Monday April 20

Study Day

Tuesday April 21

Final Exams begin

7:30 a.m., Wednesday April 22

Final Exams end

10:00 p.m., Tuesday April 28

Graduate Commencement

Saturday May 2
 
 
   

Summer 2015 (16 weeks)


Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Monday May 11

Memorial Day holiday

Monday (Classes suspended) May 25

Classes resume

Tuesday May 26

Summer recess begins

Saturday June 27

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday July 6

             Classes end

10:00 p.m., Saturday August 22
             Final Exams begin Monday

August 24

             Final Exams end

Saturday August 29
     

Summer Session I 2015 (8 weeks)

 

Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Monday May 11

Memorial Day holiday

Monday May 25

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Tuesday May 26

Classes end

10:00 p.m., Saturday June 27

Final Exams begin

Monday June 29

Final Exams end

Wednesday July 1
     

Summer Session II 2015 (8 weeks)

 

Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Monday July 6

Classes end

10:00 p.m., Saturday August 22

Final Exams begin

Monday August 24

Final Exams end

Wednesday August 26

            See Registrar’s Web page for summer exam schedules.

 

Admission terms and application deadlines  

 

 

This is a general guide for submission of application materials. Some programs have earlier application deadlines and may not admit for all semesters. Applicants should check the specific admission terms, application deadlines, and application requirements for the program they wish to enter at www.oakland.edu/grad. If no dates are given, the following schedule will apply.
 

 
 Term for which admission
is requested
Regular Applicants International Applicants
       Fall Semester July 15 May 1
       Winter Semester November 15 September 1
       Summer Semester March 15 January 1

 

Application for Graduation*

Students must submit an online Application for Graduation for the term in which they will complete degree requirements. A graduation audit  is conducted during that semester to verify that the student has met all academic requirements for the degree. If students are completing a thesis or dissertation, they must follow the deadlines for format review, defense and submission for binding as published in the Schedule of Classes.

 

 
Winter Semester       Last Friday in January        
Summer I Last Friday in January        
Summer II Last Friday in June             
Fall Semester Last Friday in September 

 

* Subject to change. Confirm with Academic Records or consult the Schedule of Classes.