The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
 
 
Oakland University Logo
MenuMenu
    Oakland University
   
 
  Dec 14, 2017
 
 
    
2015-2017 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Calendars and Deadlines


 

 

Academic Calendar 2015-2017

Fall 2015


New Student Convocation

Wednesday September 2

Classes begin

7:30 p.m., Thursday September 3

Labor Day Holiday

Monday September 7

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Tuesday September 8

Thanksgiving Recess begins

10:00 p.m., Wednesday November 25

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday November 30

Classes end

10:00 p.m., Monday December 7

Study Period

Tuesday December 8

Final Exams begin

7:30 a.m., Wednesday December 9

Final Exams end

10:00 p.m., Tuesday December 15

Commencement

Saturday December 19

Winter 2016


Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Tuesday January 5

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday (Classes suspended) January 18

Winter Recess begins

10:00 p.m., Saturday February 20

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday February 29

Classes end

10:00 p.m., Monday April 18

Study Period

Wednesday April 19

Final Exams begin

7:30 a.m., Wednesday April 20

Final Exams end

10:00 p.m., Tuesday April 26

Commencement

Friday - Saturday April 29 - 30

Summer 2016


Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Monday May 9

Memorial Day holiday

Monday (Classes suspended) May 30

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Tuesday May 31

Summer recess begins

10:00 p.m., Saturday June 25

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Tuesday July 5

             Classes end

10:00 p.m., Saturday August 20
             Final Exams begin Monday

August 22

             Final Exams end

Saturday August 27

Commencement

   

            See Registrar’s Web page for summer exam schedules.

Fall 2016


New Student Convocation

Wednesday  

Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Thursday September 1

Labor Day Holiday

Monday (Classes suspended) September 5

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Tuesday September 6

Thanksgiving Recess begins

10:00 p.m., Wednesday November 24

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday November 28

Classes end

10:00 p.m., Monday December 5

Study Period

Tuesday December 6

Final Exams begin

7:30 a.m., Wednesday December 7

Final Exams end

10:00 p.m., Tuesday December 13

Commencement

Saturday December 17

Winter 2017


Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Wednesday January 4

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday (Classes suspended) January 16

Winter Recess begins

10:00 p.m., Saturday February 18

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday February 27

Classes end

10:00 p.m., Tuesday April 18

Study Period

Wednesday April 19

Final Exams begin

7:30 a.m., Thursday April 20

Final Exams end

10:00 p.m., Friday April 26

Commencement

Friday - Saturday April 28-29

Summer 2017


Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Monday May 8

Memorial Day holiday

Monday (Classes suspended) May 29

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Tuesday May 30

Summer recess begins

10:00 p.m., Saturday June 24

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday July 3

Independence Day Holiday

Tuesday (Classes suspended) July 4

Classes resume

Wednesday July 5

             Classes end

10:00 p.m., Saturday August 19
             Final Exams begin Monday

August 21

             Final Exams end

Saturday August 26

Commencement

   
     
            See Registrar’s Web page for summer exam schedules.
 

Admission terms and application deadlines  

 

This is a general guide for submission of application materials. Some programs have earlier application deadlines and may not admit for all semesters. Applicants should check the specific admission terms, application deadlines, and application requirements for the program they wish to enter at www.oakland.edu/grad. If no dates are given, the following schedule will apply.
 

 
 Term for which admission
is requested
Regular Applicants International Applicants
       Fall Semester July 15 May 1
       Winter Semester November 15 September 1
       Summer Semester March 15 January 1

 

Application for Graduation*

Students must submit an online Application for Graduation for the term in which they will complete degree requirements. A graduation audit  is conducted during that semester to verify that the student has met all academic requirements for the degree. If students are completing a thesis or dissertation, they must follow the deadlines for format review, defense and submission for binding as published in the Schedule of Classes.

 

 
Winter Semester       Last Friday in January        
Summer I Last Friday in January        
Summer II Last Friday in June             
Fall Semester Last Friday in September 

 
* Subject to change. Confirm with Academic Records or consult the Schedule of Classes.