The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
Oakland University Logo
2015-2017 Graduate Catalog
Oakland University
  Jan 17, 2018
2015-2017 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

School of Education and Human Services


415 Pawley Hall • (248) 370-3050 • Fax (248) 370-4202  (map)


Interim dean:
C. Robert Maxfield

Associate dean:
Nancy A. Melamed-Brown

Professors emeriti:
Richard F. Barron, Ph.D., Syracuse University
Jane M. Bingham, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Gloria T. Blatt, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Robert J. Christina, Ph.D., Syracuse University
F. James Clatworthy, Ph.D., University of Michigan
George E. Coon, Ed.D., Wayne State University
William C. Fish, Ed.D., Columbia University
Eric J. Follo, Ed.D., Wayne State University
Jane S. Goodman, Ph.D., Wayne State University
W. Dorsey Hammond, Ph.D., University of Delaware
Laszlo J. Hetenyi, Ed.D., Michigan State University
James W. Hughes, Ed.D., University of New Mexico
Patrick J. Johnson, Ed.D., Wayne State University
William G. Keane, Ed.D., Columbia University
Billy J. Minor, Ph.D., Indiana University
William F. Moorhouse, Ed.D., University of Wyoming
M. Sharon P. Muir, Ph.D., University of Nebraska
Mary L. Otto, Ed.D., Indiana University
Sandra P. Packard, Ed.D., Indiana University
Robert G. Payne, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Luellen Ramey, Ph.D., University of Florida
Howard Splete, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Toni S. Walters, Ph.D., Oakland University

Distinguished professor:
Ronald L. Cramer, Ph.D., University of Delaware

Susan M. Awbrey, Ph.D., Michigan State University
James T. Hansen, Ph.D., University of Detroit
John E. McEneaney, Ph.D., University of Georgia
Linda M. Pavonetti, Ed.D., University of Houston
Robert M. Schwartz, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Julia B. Smith, Ed.D., University of Michigan
Mary T. Stein, Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo
David Strubler, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Dyanne M. Tracy, Ph.D., Indiana University
Robert A. Wiggins, Ph.D., University of Illinois,

Associate professors:
Ambika P. Bhargava, Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
Thomas W. Blume, Ph.D., Texas Technological
Karen Bolak, Ed.D., Wayne State University
Cynthia L. Carver, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Michael P. Chaney, Ph.D., Georgia State University
Tanya Christ, Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo
James F. Cipielewski, Ph.D., Oakland University
Chaturi Edrisinha, Ph.D., Univeristy of Texas, Austin
Robert S. Fink, Ph.D., State University of New York,
Shannon R. Flumerfelt, Ph.D., Oakland University
Tomas R. Giberson, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Janet E. Graetz, Ph.D., George Mason University
Darlene Groomes, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Andrew S. Gunsberg, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Lisa D. Hawley, Ph.D., University of South Carolina
James M. Javorsky, Ph.D., Purdue University
Eileen S. Johnson, Ph.D., University of Houston
Timothy G. Larrabee, Ph.D., University of California,
Ji Eun Lee, Ed.D., State University of New York,
Todd W. Leibert, Ph.D., University of Florida
Ledong Li, Ph.D., Oakland University
S. Rebecca Leigh, Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Michael P. Long, J.D., Detroit College of Law
Mary K. Lose, Ed.D., Drake University
Michael G. MacDonald, Ph.D., University of Calgary
C. Robert Maxfield, Jr., Ed.D., Wayne State University
Gwendolyn M. McMillon, Ph.D., Michigan State University
M. Shannan McNair, Ed.D., University of Michigan
Nancy A. Melamed-Brown, M.Ed., University of Michigan

Jana Nidiffer, Ed.D., Harvard University
Sherri L. Oden, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Mark R. Olson, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Carolyn J. O’Mahony, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Dawn M. Pickard, Ph.D., Purdue University
Richard C. Pipan, Ed.D., University of North Carolina
Anne E. Porter, Ph.D., Wayne State University
James Quinn, Ph.D., University of Iowa
Julie A. Ricks-Doneen, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Erica A. Ruegg, Ed.D., Texas Technological University
Chaunda L. Scott, Ed.D., Columbia University
Sunwoo Shin, Ed.D., University of Memphis
Brian J. Taber, Ph.D., Kent State University
Caryn M. Wells, Ph.D., Michigan State University

Assistant professors:
Stephanie A. Crockett, Ph.D., Old Dominion University
Anthony Francis, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Bong Gee Jang, Ph.D., University of Virginia
C. Suzanne Klein, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Jessica Korneder, Ph.D., Western Michigan University
Jennifer Matthews, Ph.D., University of Central Florida
Emery Petchauer, Ph.D., Regent University
William L. Solomonson, Wayne State University
V. Thandi Sulé, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Tierra Tivis, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Paul Weinberg, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University

Visiting assistant professors:
Anica Bowe, Ph.D., University of Minnesota
Lizabeth Guzniczak, Ph.D., Oakland University
Nicholas Lauer, Ph.D., Wayne Street University
Terrance McClain, M.A., Oakland University
Sue A. Sharma, Ph.D., Oakland University
Jennifer Wenson, Ph.D., University of Phoenix

Special instructors:
Christine Abbott, Ph.D., Oakland University
Mark S. Doman, J.D., University of Minnesota
Linda K. Tyson, Ed.S., University of Michigan



Education Specialist:


Graduate Certificates:

Post-Master’s Graduate Certificate: