Jun 16, 2021  
2020-2021 Undergraduate Catalog 
2020-2021 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Communication, Journalism and Public Relations

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Catalog Search

(248) 370-4120
Fax: (248) 370-4208

Department Website


Chairperson: Jeffrey Youngquist

Professor Emeritus: David L. Lau

Professor: Thomas Discenna, Sharon L. Howell, Valerie Palmer-Mehta

Associate professors: Kathleen M. Battles, Jacob Cayanus, Rose M. Cooper, Scott Crabill, Rebekah Farrugia, Kellie Hay, Jennifer M. Heisler, Rebecca Mercado Jones, Lily Mendoza, Erin Meyers, Adina Schneeweis, Robert Sidelinger (supervisor, Communication Internships), Jeffrey Youngquist

Assistant professors: Sam Srauy, Chiaoning Su, Zexin (Marsha) Ma

Visiting Faculty: Katherine Rott

Special instructor: Elizabeth Talbert

Full-time adjunct instructors: Garry Gilbert (director, Journalism Program; interim director, Public Relations), Holly Shreve Gilbert, Christine Stover

Lecturers in communication: Lisa Campbell, Paul Fugate, Timothy Johnston, Carol Anne Ketelsen, Stanislav Kozadayev, Jason Pennington, James Perkinson, Charles Rinehart, Martin Shafer, Debra Youngquist, Emily Cutlip, John Kirsh

Lecturers in journalism: Susan Evans, Brian Hlavaty (supervisor, Journalism Internships), Kelly Kozlowski, Kim Madeleine, Judith Sawyer, Ritu Sehgal, Catherine Shafran, Kaniqua Welch

Chief advisers: Elizabeth Talbert (Communication), Holly Shreve Gilbert (Journalism and Public Relations)


The Department of Communication, Journalism and Public Relations offers three Bachelor of Arts programs of study in Communication, Journalism, and Public Relations and Strategic Communication. Courses are available in communication theory, interpersonal and organizational communication, media studies, rhetorical studies, critical/cultural studies, print and broadcast journalism, public relations, and advertising.

Departmental Honors and Scholarships

All communication, journalism and public relations majors with a minimum university grade point average of 3.00 and a minimum grade point average of 3.60 in the major are considered candidates for departmental honors. The department awards the following scholarships: the Donald C.Hildum Scholarship for communication students demonstrating academic promise and community involvement, the Oakland Press Scholarship for excellence in journalism, the Bunting and Briggs Freedom of the Press Scholarship, the Richard D. French public relations tuition award and the Nancy A. French award.

Schedule of Classes

Specific offerings for each semester may be found in the Schedule of Classes.



Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Catalog Search