Jun 14, 2024  
2015-2017 Graduate Catalog 
2015-2017 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments


190 Mathematics and Science Center • (248) 370-3416 • Fax (248) 370-3408   (map)


Andrei N. Slavin
186G Mathematics and Science Center
(248) 370-3401


Professors emeriti:
Abraham R. Liboff, Ph.D., New York University
Ralph C. Mobley, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin
Norman Tepley, Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of
Paul A. Tipler, Ph.D., University of Illinois
William D. Wallace, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Robert M. Williamson, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin

Distinguished professors:
Michael J. Chopp, Ph.D., New York University
Andrei N. Slavin, Ph.D., Leningrad Technical University
Gopalan Srinivasan, Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology
Ken Elder, Ph.D., University of Toronto (Canada)
David Garfinkle, Ph.D., University of Chicago
George B. Martins, Ph.D., Campinas State University
Bradley J. Roth, Ph.D., Vanderbilt University
Yang Xia, Ph.D., Massey University (New Zealand)

Associate professors:
Kapila Clara Castoldi, Ph.D., University of Milan (Italy)
Evgeniy Khain, Ph.D., Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Alberto G. Rojo, Ph.D., Instituto Balseiro Bariloche

Assistant professor:
Eugene Surdutovich, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Yuejian Wang, Ph.D., Texas Christian University


Research associate professor:
Vasyl Tyberkevych, Ph.D., Kiev National Taras Shevchenko
    University (Ukraine)

Adjunct professors of physics:
Carl E. Bleil, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
Grant R. Gerhart, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Bryan Shumaker, M.D., Michigan State University
Srinivasan Venkatesan, Ph.D., University of London
Uma Devi Venkateswaran, Ph.D., University of Missouri

Adjunct professors of medical physics:

Jieli Chen, M.D., Tianjin Medical University
James R. Ewing, Ph.D., Oakland University
Clifford M. Les, Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Brian Marples, University College London (United Kingdom)
Hani Sabbah, Ph.D., Oakland University
Hamid Soltanian-Zadeh, Ph.D., University of Michigan
George Wilson, University of Liverpool (United Kingdom)
Di Yan, Ph.D., Washington University

Adjunct associate professors of medical physics:
Robert L. Hammond, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Quan Jiang, Ph.D., Oakland University
Robert Knight, Ph.D., Oakland University
Jian Liang, Ph.D., Zhejiang University (China)
Patrick N. McDermott, Ph.D., University of Rochester

Adjunct assistant professors of medical physics:
Hassan Bagher-Ebadian, Ph.D., Oakland University
Susan Bowyer, Ph.D., Oakland University
Dan Ionascu, Ph.D., Northeastern University
Kenneth Jenrow, Ph.D., Oakland University
Tiezhi Zhang, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Research fields and facilities

The Department of Physics faculty are currently involved in research in the following broad areas: biophysics and medical physics, condensed matter physics theory and experiment, and gravitational physics theory. Specifically, the biophysics and medical physics group has been studying and developing therapies for the treatment of neural injury and neurodegenerative diseases and brain tumors, the biophysics and biomechanics of osteoarthritis, cardiac electrophysiology, and the invasion and clustering of cancer cells. Methods and tools employed in these studies include NMR imaging, NMR microscopy, multi-modality microscopic imaging, in vivo NMR spectroscopy, neuromagnetism, two-photon laser scanning confocal microscopy, laser-capture microscopy, time-lapse microscopy, electron microscopy, and advanced molecular biological methods and mathematical analyses. The condensed matter physics group conducts theoretical studies of the linear and nonlinear dynamics of spin waves and phenomena associated with phase transitions and experiments on magnetic properties of technologically useful materials, optical properties of semiconductors and carbon nanotubes under high pressure, instabilities and pattern formation in granular matter, front propagation in biological systems, and crystal growth of diamond films and silicon ribbons. The gravitational theory group’s research centers on critical phenomena, chaos, and the nature of generic singularities in Einstein’s theory of general relativity.

Research facilities in the high pressure optics laboratory include Raman spectrometers with single or multi-channel detectors, facilities for photoluminescence studies in the visible and infrared regions, argon ion and Ti: sapphire lasers, high pressure cells capable of generating 10 GPa, and closed cycle helium refrigerators. Research facilities in the condensed matter physics laboratories include a Faraday Magnetometer, an AC susceptometer, a ferromagnetic resonance spectrometer at x-band, a scanning probe microscope, a scanning microwave microscope, vector network analyzers (1 kHz-110 GHz), a Philips x-ray diffractometer, one and two kilowatt RF power supplies with 50W matching networks for silicon ribbon growth, and vacuum facilities for thin film evaporation and fullerene preparation. Research facilities in the biomagnetism laboratories include the non-magnetic environment of the Kettering Magnetics Laboratory and an underground shielded room for research demanding ultra-low AC backgrounds. Research facilities in the NMR microscopy laboratory include a Bruker AVANCE II 300 NMR spectrometer with a 7-Tesla/89-mm bore superconducting magnet and micro-imaging accessories, PerkinElmer Spotlight 300 Fourier-transform infrared microscope, Leica polarized light microscope, Skyscan 1174 micro-CT scanner, and Endura TEC 3200 mechanical testing system. The department also has microwave device facilities in the frequency range from 100 kHz to 70 GHz. Supporting facilities include electronics and mechanical workshops staffed by experienced technical personnel. Computer facilities include a 200-node supercomputer cluster for high performance computing, plus a number of workstations, and numerous Macintosh and PC computers. Most research laboratories are located in the modern Science and Engineering Building on campus.

The Physics Department recently installed two modern computer clusters, the newest one, funded through the NSF Major Research Instrumentation Program, is composed of 24 nodes containing two AMD Opteron 6136 “Magny-Cours” running at 2.4 GHz, with 8 cores and 64 GB RAM each, for a total of 384 cores and more than 1.5 TB of RAM. In addition, the two  head nodes combined provide 18 TB of hard disk space. Both clusters are located in modern computer rooms at the Oakland Information Technology Center.

Among research facilities in neighboring hospitals available to medical physics students are a 3.0-Tesla whole-body NMR system and two 7.0-Telsa/20-cm horizontal bore magnet NMR systems for imaging and in vivo spectroscopy, a 7-channel SQUID magnetometer, a 148-channel whole-head SQUID neuromagnetometer, a Zeiss LSM 510 two photon microscope, Leica LMD 6000 laser microdissection system, Philips EM208 transmission electron microscope, a nuclear medicine laboratory, radiology and CT scanning facilities, advanced modalities cancer therapy laboratory (including radiotherapy), diagnostic ultrasonic equipment, a laser surgery laboratory, and major hospital medical libraries.




    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Academic Departments