Dec 08, 2021  
2021-2023 Graduate Catalog 
    
2021-2023 Graduate Catalog

Calendars and Deadlines


 

 

Academic Calendar 2021-2022

            See Registrar’s Web page for fall exam schedules.

Fall 2021


New Student Convocation

Wednesday September 1

Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Thursday September 2

            Labor Day recess

7:30 a.m., Monday September 6

            Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Tuesday September 7

            Fall break starts

10:00 p.m., Thursday October 21

            Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday  October 25

Thanksgiving Recess begins

10:00 p.m., Wednesday November 24

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday November 29

Fall Classes end

10:00 p.m., Monday December 6

Study Day

Tuesday December 7

Final Exams begin

7:30 a.m., Wednesday December 8

Final Exams end

10:00 p.m., Tuesday December 14

Commencement

Saturday December 18

Winter 2022


Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Wednesday January 5

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day

Monday (Classes suspended) January 17

           Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Tuesday January 18

Winter Recess begins

10:00 p.m., Saturday February 26

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday March 7

Winter Classes end

10:00 p.m., Monday April 18

Study Day

Tuesday April 19

Final Exams begin

7:30 a.m., Wednesday April 20

Final Exams end

10:00 p.m., Tuesday April 26

Commencement

Thursday- Saturday April 28-May 1

Summer 2022


Classes begin

7:30 a.m., Monday May 2

Memorial Day holiday

Monday (Classes suspended) May 30

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Tuesday May 31

Summer recess begins

10:00 p.m., Saturday June 18

Classes resume

7:30 a.m., Monday June 27

Independence Day Holiday

Friday (Classes suspended) July 1

Classes resume

Tuesday July 5

           Classes end

10:00 p.m., Saturday August 13
           Final Exams begin Monday

August 16

           Final Exams end

Saturday August 21
     

 
See Registrar’s Web page for summer exam schedules.
 

Admission terms and application deadlines  

 

This is a general guide for submission of application materials. Some programs have earlier application deadlines and may not admit for all semesters. Applicants should check the specific admission terms, application deadlines, and application requirements for the program they wish to enter at www.oakland.edu/grad. If no dates are given, the following schedule will apply.
 

 
 Term for which admission
is requested
Early Deadline Regular Deadline Late Deadline International Deadlines
       Fall Semester February 15 April 15 July 15 May 1
       Winter Semester October 1 November 15   September 1
       Summer Semester   March 1   January 1

 

Application for Graduation*

Students must submit an online Application for Graduation for the term in which they will complete degree requirements. A graduation audit  is conducted during that semester to verify that the student has met all academic requirements for the degree. If students are completing a thesis or dissertation, they must follow the deadlines for format review, defense and submission for binding as published in the Schedule of Classes.

 

 
Winter Semester       Last Friday in January        
Summer I Last Friday in January        
Summer II Last Friday in May         
Fall Semester Last Friday in September 

 
* Subject to change. Confirm with Academic Records or consult the Schedule of Classes.