May 28, 2024  
2022-2023 Undergraduate Catalog 
2022-2023 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Communication, Journalism and Public Relations

(248) 370-4120
Fax: (248) 370-4208

Department Website


Chairperson:  Kathleen Battles

Professors Emeritus: Rose M. Cooper, David L. Lau

Professor: Kathleen Battles, Thomas Discenna, Rebekah Farrugia (Communication MA program coordinator), Kellie Hay, Sharon L. Howell, S.Lily Mendoza, Valerie Palmer-Mehta (supervisor, Communication Internships), Robert Sidelinger (Communication program director)

Associate professors: Jacob Cayanus, Scott Crabill, Jennifer M. Heisler, Rebecca Mercado Jones, Erin Meyers, Adina Schneeweis (Journalism program director), Sam Srauy, Jeffrey Youngquist

Assistant professors: Chiaoning Su, Zexin (Marsha) Ma, Guolan Yang

Special instructor: Elizabeth Talbert

Full-time adjunct instructors: Garry Gilbert (interim director, Public Relations and Strategic Communication), Holly Shreve Gilbert, Christine Stover

Lecturers in communication: Nicola Artese, Lisa Campbell, Tina Collins, Emily Cutlip, Paul Fugate, Timothy Johnston, John Kirsh, Charles Rinehart, Martin Shafer, Shannon Stefanide, Debra Youngquist

Lecturers in journalism: Susan Evans, Brian Hlavaty (supervisor, Journalism Internships), Kelly Kozlowski, Kim Madeleine, Katherine Roff, Ritu Sehgal, Kaniqua Welch

Chief advisers: Elizabeth Talbert (Communication), Holl Shreve Gilbert (Journalism and Public Relations)

The Department of Communication, Journalism, and Public Relations offers three Bachelor of Arts programs of study in Communication, Journalism, and Public Relations and Strategic Communication. Courses are available in communication theory, interpersonal and organizational communication, media studies, rhetorical studies, critical/cultural studies, print and broadcast journalism, public relations, and advertising.

Departmental Honors and Scholarships

All communication, journalism and public relations majors with a minimum university grade point average of 3.00 and a minimum grade point average of 3.60 in the major are considered candidates for departmental honors. The department awards the following scholarships: the Donald C.Hildum Scholarship for communication students demonstrating academic promise and community involvement, the Oakland Press Scholarship for excellence in journalism, the Bunting and Briggs Freedom of the Press Scholarship, the Richard D. French public relations tuition award and the Nancy A. French award.

Schedule of Classes

Specific offerings for each semester may be found in the Schedule of Classes.



Page: 1 | 2