May 23, 2024  
2015-2016 Undergraduate Catalog 
2015-2016 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Communication and Journalism

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments

(248) 370-4120
Fax: (248) 370-4208

Department Website:


Chairperson: Jennifer M. Heisler

Professor: Sharon L. Howell

Associate professors: Kathleen M. Battles, Jacob Cayanus, Rose M. Cooper, Scott Crabill, Thomas Discenna, Rebekah Farrugia, Kellie Hay, Jennifer M. Heisler, David L. Lau, Lily Mendoza, Valerie Palmer-Mehta, Robert Sidelinger (supervisor, Communication Internships), Jeffrey Youngquist (director, Communication Program)

Assistant professors: You Li, Rebecca Mercado Thornton, Erin Meyers, Adina Schneeweis, Sam Srauy

Special instructors: Anne Becker, Elizabeth Talbert

Full-time adjunct instructors: Garry Gilbert (director, Journalism Program), Holly Shreve Gilbert, Christine Stover

Visiting instructor: Laura Fry

Lecturers in communication: Eileen Boseak, Scott Burke, Lisa Campbell, Gene Fogel, Paul Fugate, Rich Heide, Brian Hlavaty (supervisor, Journalism internships),Timothy Johnston, Carol Anne Ketelsen, Janet McKenney, James Perkinson, Charles Rinehart, Jon Wilkinson, Debra Youngquist, Gina Zasadny, Stefen Welch

Lecturers in journalism: Susan Evans, Kelly Kozlowski, Kim Madeleine, Judith Sawyer, Ritu Sehgal, Catherine Shafran, Kaniqua Daniel

Chief advisers: Thomas Discenna (Communication), Holly Shreve Gilbert (Journalism)


The Department of Communication and Journalism offers programs of study leading to the degree of Bachelor of Arts in Communication or Journalism, with the opportunity to concentrate in several areas within each major. Courses are available in communication theory, public and interpersonal communication, print and broadcast journalism, public relations, advertising, oral interpretation and mass media.

Communication and journalism training can enhance almost any career or life. There are many specialized careers that welcome students with communication knowledge and writing skills, e.g., journalism, media, law, teaching.  

Departmental Honors and Scholarships

All communication and journalism majors with a university grade point average of 3.00 and a grade point average of 3.60 in the major are considered candidates for departmental honors.  Honors are awarded to those candidates with the highest averages in major courses. The exact criterion varies from year to year. The department awards the following scholarships:the Macomb University Center Communication Student Awards, the Donald C.Hildum Scholarship for communication students demonstrating academic promise, the Oakland Press Scholarship for excellence in journalism, the Bunting and Briggs Freedom of the Press Scholarship, and the Richard D. French public relations tuition award and the Nancy A. French award.

Schedule of Classes

Specific offerings for each semester may be found in the Schedule of



Page: 1 | 2

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments