The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
Oakland University Logo
    Oakland University
  Jan 23, 2018
2012-2013 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

School of Education and Human Services

415 Pawley Hall • (248) 370-3050 • Fax (248) 370-4202  (map)


Louis B. Gallien, Jr.

Associate deans:
Nancy A. Melamed-Brown
Timothy G. Larrabee


Distinguished professor emeritus:
F. James Clatworthy, Ph.D., University of Michigan

Professors emeriti:
Richard F. Barron, Ph.D., Syracuse University
Jane M. Bingham, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Gloria T. Blatt, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Robert J. Christina, Ph.D., Syracuse University
George E. Coon, Ed.D., Wayne State University
William C. Fish, Ed.D., Columbia University
Eric J. Follo, Ed.D., Wayne State University
Jane S. Goodman, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Laszlo J. Hetenyi, Ed.D., Michigan State University
James W. Hughes, Ed.D., University of New Mexico
Patrick J. Johnson, Ed.D., Wayne State University
William G. Keane, Ed.D., Columbia University
William F. Moorhouse, Ed.D., University of Wyoming
M. Sharon P. Muir, Ph.D., University of Nebraska
Robert G. Payne, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Luellen Ramey, Ph.D., University of Florida
Howard Splete, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Toni S. Walters, Ph.D., Oakland University

Distinguished professor:
Ronald L. Cramer, Ph.D., University of Delaware

Susan M. Awbrey, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Louis B. Gallien, Jr., Ed.D., University of North Carolina
James T. Hansen, Ph.D., University of Detroit
John E. McEneaney, Ph.D., University of Georgia
Sandra P. Packard, Ed.D., Indiana University
Linda M. Pavonetti, Ed.D., University of Houston
Robert M. Schwartz, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Mary T. Stein, Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo
Dyanne M. Tracy, Ph.D., Indiana University
Robert A. Wiggins, Ph.D., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Associate professors:
Ambika P. Bhargava, Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin
Thomas W. Blume, Ph.D., Texas Technological University
Karen Bolak, Ed.D., Wayne State University
Michael P. Chaney, Ph.D., Georgia State University
James F. Cipielewski, Ph.D., Oakland University
Robert S. Fink, Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo
Shannon R. Flumerfelt, Ph.D., Oakland University
Tomas R. Giberson, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Sarah L. Gibson, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Janet E. Graetz, Ph.D., George Mason University
Darlene Groomes, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Andrew S. Gunsberg, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Lisa D. Hawley, Ph.D., University of South Carolina
James M. Javorsky, Ph.D., Purdue University
Eileen S. Johnson, Ph.D., University of Houston
Timothy G. Larrabee, Ph.D., University of California, Davis
Ledong Li, Ph.D., Oakland University
Ji Eun Lee, Ed.D., State University of New York, Binghamton
Todd W. Leibert, Ph.D., University of Florida
Michael P. Long, J.D., Detroit College of Law
Mary K. Lose, Ed.D., Drake University
Michael G. MacDonald, Ph.D., University of Calgary (Canada)
C. Robert Maxfield, Jr., Ed.D., Wayne State University
Gwendolyn M. McMillon, Ph.D., Michigan State University
M. Shannan McNair, Ed.D., University of Michigan
Nancy A. Melamed-Brown, M.Ed., University of Michigan


Jana Nidiffer, Ed.D., Harvard University
Sherri L. Oden, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Carolyn J. O’Mahony, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Dawn M. Pickard, Ph.D., Purdue University
Anne E. Porter, Ph.D., Wayne State University
James Quinn, Ph.D., University of Iowa
Erica A. Ruegg, Ed.D., Texas Technological University
Chaunda L. Scott, Ed.D., Columbia University
Julia B. Smith, Ed.D., University of Michigan
Carol A. Swift, Ph.D., University of Arizona
Brian J. Taber, Ph.D., Kent State University
Caryn M. Wells, Ph.D., Michigan State University

Assistant professors:
Erin J. Binkley, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Cynthia L. Carver, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Tanya Christ, Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo
Stephanie A. Crockett, Ph.D., Old Dominion University
Sachin Jain, Ph.D., University of Idaho
C. Suzanne Klein, Ph.D., University of Michigan
S. Rebecca Leigh, Ph.D., University of South Carolina
Mark R. Olson, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Julie A. Ricks-Doneen, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Sunwoo Shin, Ed.D., University of Memphis
William L. Solomonson, Wayne State University
V. Thandi Sulé, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Tierra Tivis, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Catherine Wigent, Ph.D., Michigan State University

Visiting professor:
Nicholas Lauer, Ph.D., Wayne State University

Visiting assistant professors:
Judy L. Jacobs, Ph.D., Union Institute & University
Patrick Karbon, Ph.D., University of North Texas
Sue A. Sharma, Ph.D., Oakland University
Kristen Smiley, Ph.D., Oakland University

Adjunct assistant professor:
Linda J. Ayres, Ph.D., Oakland University

Special instructors:
Mark S. Doman, J.D., University of Minnesota
Annette M. Osborne, Ph.D., Oakland University
Linda K. Tyson, Ed.S., University of Michigan
Mary F. Zepplin, Ed.S., Oakland University

Special lecturer:
Christine Abbott, Ph.D., Oakland University



Education Specialist:


Graduate Certificates:

Post-Master’s Graduate Certificate: