Sep 22, 2021  
2012-2013 Graduate Catalog 
2012-2013 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

School of Engineering and Computer Science


248 Dodge Hall • (248) 370-2212 • Fax (248) 370-4261  (map)


Louay M. Chamra

Associate dean:
Lorenzo M. Smith

Business manager:
Keith Harvey

Department chairs:
Zissimos P. Mourelatos, Mechanical Engineering
Daniel N. Aloi, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Robert P. Van Til, Industrial and Systems Engineering
Fatma Mili, Computer Science and Engineering

Professors emeriti:
David Boddy, Ph.D., Purdue University
Robert H. Edgerton, Ph.D., Cornell University
Michael Y. Y. Hung, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Glenn A. Jackson, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Naim A. Kheir, Ph.D., The Hungarian Academy of Sciences (Budapest)
Keith R. Kleckner, Ph.D., Cornell University
Gilbert L. Wedekind, Ph.D., University of Illinois
Tung H. Weng, Ph.D., University of Missouri, Columbia
Thomas G. Windeknecht, Ph.D., Case Institute of Technology
Howard R. Witt, Ph.D., Cornell University

Hoda S. Abdel-Aty-Zohdy, Ph.D., University of Waterloo (Canada)
Gary C. Barber, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Bhushan L. Bhatt, Ph.D., Oakland University
Ka Chai Cheok, Ph.D., Oakland University
Manohar Das, Ph.D., Colorado State University
Pieter A. Frick, Ph.D., London University (England)
Subramaniam Ganesan, Ph.D., Indian Institute of
Science (Bangalore)
Edward Y. L. Gu, Ph.D., Purdue University
Randy Gu, Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo
Richard E. Haskell, Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Keyu Li, Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
Nan K. Loh, Ph.D., University of Waterloo (Canada)
Zissimos P. Mourelatos, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Sayed A. Nassar, Ph.D., University of Cincinnati
Michael P. Polis, Ph.D., Purdue University
Andrew Rusek, Ph.D., Technical University of Warsaw (Poland)
Ishwar Sethi, Ph.D., Indian Institute of Technology (Kharagpur)
Robert P. Van Til, Ph.D., Northwestern University
Lianxiang Yang, Ph.D., University of Kassel (Germany)
Mohamed A. Zohdy, Ph.D., University of Waterloo (Canada)

Associate professors:
Daniel Aloi, Ph.D., Ohio University
Yin-Ping Chang, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University
Debatosh Debnath, Ph.D., Kyushu Institute of Technology (Japan)
Huirong Fu, Ph.D., Nanyang Technological University (Singapore)
Laila Guessous, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Darrin M. Hanna, Ph.D., Oakland University
Jia Li, Ph.D., University of Michigan
Ching Long Ko, Ph.D., University of Oklahoma
Christopher Kobus, Ph.D., Oakland University
Michael A. Latcha, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Lunjin Lu, Ph.D., University of Birmingham (England)
Barbara Oakley, Ph.D., Oakland University
Brian P. Sangeorzan, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison
Sankar Sengupta, Ph.D., Clemson University
Gautam B. Singh, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Lorenzo M. Smith, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Christian C. Wagner, Ph.D., Michigan State University
Qian Zou, Ph.D., Tsinghua University (China)


Assistant professors:
Dae-Kyoo Kim, Ph.D., Colorado State University
Nilesh Patel, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Guangzhi Qu, Ph.D., University of Arizona
Hongwei Qu, Ph.D., University of Florida
Osamah Rawashdeh, Ph.D., University of Kentucky
James David Schall, Ph.D., North Carolina State University
Mohamad Siadat, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Tao Shu, Ph.D., University of Arizona
Jing Tang, Ph.D., University of Illinois (Urbana)
Xia Wang, Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Ching-Seh Wu, Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Special instructor:
Jerry E. Marsh, M.S., Oakland University

Special lecturer:
Laura Dinsmoor, M.S., Oakland University
Victor Kulesh, Ph.D., Oakland University
Sebnem Onsay, M.S., Oakland University

Adjunct professors:
Ismat Abu-Isa, Ph.D., Northwestern University
Alex Alkidas, Ph.D., Georgia Institute of Technology
Robert F. Bordley, Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
Sergey Golovashchenko, D.Sc., Bauman Moscow State Technical University
Dennis A. Corrigan, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Yung-Li Lee, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Mutasim Salman, Ph.D., University of Illinois, Champaign

Adjunct associate professors:
Turgay Bengisu, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Preston L. Brooks, M.S.E.E., Stanford University, M.B.A.,
University of San Diego
Francis B. Hoogterp, Ph.D., Oakland University
Gerard R. Jozwiak, Ph.D., Wayne State University
Anson Lee, Ph.D., Oakland University
Simon Chin-Yu Tung, Ph.D., Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Adjunct assistant professors:
Randy Graca, Ph.D., Oakland University
Patrick Hillberg, Ph.D., Oakland University


General information

The School of Engineering and Computer Science offers programs leading to the Doctor of Philosophy degree in computer science and informatics, electrical and computer engineering, mechanical engineering and systems engineering. It also offers the Master of Science degree in computer science, electrical and computer engineering, embedded systems, industrial and systems engineering, mechanical engineering, mechatronics, software engineering and information technology, and systems engineering. Additionally, a Master of Science degree program in engineering management is offered in cooperation with the School of Business Administration.

The School of Engineering and Computer Science is housed in Dodge Hall of Engineering, Hannah Hall and the Science and Engineering building, which is a modern facility with extensive laboratories for research and design studies. Laboratories cover automotive mechatronic systems, robotics, machine vision, experimental stress analysis, heat transfer, fluid flow, system simulation, circuits and communications, control, mechanical and electrical properties of materials, solid-state devices and microelectronics, microprocessors, computer integrated manufacturing, computer graphics and computer-aided design. Students have access to the various computing facilities of the school and the university’s computer services. Fully equipped and staffed electronics, computer and machine shops complement these facilities.



Department of Computer Science and Engineering

Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering

Department of Mechanical Engineering

 *School-wide program

Advisory Board

The Advisory Board for the School of Engineering and Computer Science (SECS) is composed of leaders in industry. They assist the school in developing educational and research programs to meet the rapidly expanding requirements in the technical world. The board is available as a body or individually for consultation on such matters as curriculum, research, facilities, equipment requirements, special subjects and long-range planning.

  for a complete list of SECS Advisory Board members.

Centers and Institutes

The School of Engineering and Computer Science (SECS) has centers for product development and manufacturing and laboratories for systems design, real time computer systems, robotics, controls research, artificial intelligence, tribology, fluid mechanics, and thermodynamics.

  for a complete list of SECS centers and Institutes.   

Graduate assistantships and fellowships

A number of graduate assistantships and a limited number of fellowships are awarded each year on a competitive basis. They carry both stipend and tuition remuneration. Graduate assistants render 20 hours per week of teaching and/or research service to the university. No such service is required of graduate fellows. Graduate assistants or fellows at the master’s level who plan to enter either the area of research and development in industry or a doctoral program are strongly encouraged to include a master’s project or thesis as part of their program.